RESOLUTION 2017-048

RESOLUTION PROCLAIMING MAY 3, 2017 AS SAN DIEGO COUNTY LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICERS' MEMORIAL DAY AND MAY 14-20, 2017 AS NATIONAL POLICE WEEK

WHEREAS, the San Diego Unified Port District (District) is a public corporation created by the Legislature in 1962 pursuant to Harbors and Navigation Code Appendix I, (Port Act); and

WHEREAS, section 21 of the Port Act states that the Board of Port Commissioners (BPC) may pass all necessary ordinances and resolutions for the regulation of the District; and

WHEREAS, law enforcement officers are the guardians of life and property, defenders of the individual right to be free, and warriors in the battle against crime; and

WHEREAS, the dedicated men and women who have chosen law enforcement as a career face extraordinary risk and danger in preserving freedom and security; and

WHEREAS, in May of each year National Police Week is observed throughout the nation in order to recognize the hazardous work, serious responsibilities and strong commitment to the nation's peace officers; and

WHEREAS, in conjunction with National Police Week, May 3rd is recognized as San Diego Law Enforcement Officers' Memorial Day, in commemoration of those officers who have sacrificed their lives in the line of duty.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District, on behalf of its members, staff and employees, including the 133 sworn Harbor Police Officers, hereby extends appreciation and respect of the highest order to the dedicated men and women who have chosen law enforcement as a profession and encourage the community to honor and remember those individuals who gave their lives for our safety by proclaiming May 3, 2017 as San Diego County Law Enforcement Officers' Memorial Day and May 14-20, 2017 as National Police Week.

APPROVED AS TO FORM A GENERAL COUNSEL	AND LEGALITY:
By: Deputy	
	Page 1 of 2

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District, this 11th day of April, 2017, by the following vote:

AYES: Moore, Nelson, Castellanos, Malcolm, Merrifield and Valderrama

NAYS: None.

EXCUSED: Bonelli ABSENT: None. ABSTAIN: None.

> Robert Valderrama, Chair Board of Port Commissioners

ATTEST:

Timothy A. Deuel

District Clerk

(Seal)