## **RESOLUTION 2016-17**

RESOLUTION SELECTING AND AWARDING A PURCHASE AGREEMENT WITH SUNROAD AUTO LLC, DBA KEARNY PEARSON FORD TO FURNISH FIVE (5) VEHICLES FOR THE SAN DIEGO HARBOR POLICE (NEW AND UNUSED GOODS) IN AN AMOUNT NOT TO EXCEED \$183,098.35, INCLUDING CALIFORNIA RECYCLE FEES AND SALES TAX

- WHEREAS, the San Diego Unified Port District (District) is a public corporation created by the legislature in 1962 pursuant to Harbors and Navigation Code Appendix 1, (Port Act); and
- **WHEREAS**, the Harbor Police need to replace old patrol vehicles that have reached their maximum mileage threshold (Port District Administrative Procedure 182-02); and
- WHEREAS, Harbor Police and General Services staff has developed specifications for five (5) new Sport Utility Vehicles (SUV) type patrol vehicles; and
- WHEREAS, a Request for Bids (RFB) was issued (RFB #15-33-2) and formal sealed bids were solicited through public notice on November 2, 2015, and two bids were received, however one of these was deemed by staff to be non-responsive; and
- **WHEREAS**, the only responsive bidder is Sunroad Auto LLC, DBA Kearny Pearson Ford which bid \$183,098.35; and
- WHEREAS, staff recommends awarding a purchase agreement to Sunroad Auto LLC, DBA Kearny Pearson Ford in San Diego, California as the lowest responsive and responsible bidder, in the amount of \$183,098.35.
- **NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District, as follows:

That Sunroad Auto LLC, DBA Kearny Pearson Ford is selected and awarded a purchase agreement for five (5) vehicles in an amount of \$183,098.35, and the Executive Director or her designated representative is hereby authorized on behalf of the San Diego Unified Port District to execute such purchase agreement.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

GENERAL COUNSEL

By: Assistant/Deputy

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District, this 9<sup>th</sup> day of February, 2016, by the following vote:

AYES: Bonelli, Malcolm, Merrifield, Moore, Nelson, and Valderrama.

NAYS: None. EXCUSED: None. ABSENT: None.

ABSTAIN: Castellanos.

Marshall Merrifield, Chairman Board of Port Commissioners

ATTEST:

Timothy A. Deuel

**District Clerk** 

(Seal)