RESOLUTION 2013-89

RESOLUTION APPROVING A PROCLAMATION HONORING OUTGOING CFO/TREASURER, JEFFREY B. MCENTEE FOR HIS SERVICE TO THE SAN DIEGO UNIFIED PORT DISTRICT

WHEREAS, the San Diego Unified Port District (District) is a special district created by an Act of the Legislature in 1962, as codified in the California Harbors and Navigation Code, Appendix I (Port Act); and

WHEREAS, the District is an economic engine, an environmental steward of the San Diego Bay and the surrounding tidelands, and a provider of community services and public safety to tourists and residents; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey B. McEntee has served the District with distinction for twenty–four years beginning in 1988 as Controller; as Director, Audit & Risk Management Services; as Senior Director, Business & Financial Services; and as CFO/Treasurer; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey B. McEntee has been focused on long-term financial sustainability for the District; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey B. McEntee has exercised fiscal discipline, resulting in the District's financial strength as evidenced by the recent A+ stable debt rating from Fitch Ratings; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey B. McEntee has been a strong advocate for fiscal discipline while supporting the need to develop and fund innovative business strategies; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey B. McEntee earned the Board of Port Commissioners Chairman's Cup in 2004 in recognition of outstanding public service; and

WHEREAS, Jeffrey B. McEntee will be retiring from service to the District.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District as follows:

That the Executive Director or his designated representative is hereby authorized to proclaim the District's appreciation and respect of the highest order to Jeffrey B. McEntee and wishes him a fond farewell and wonderful retirement and to approve the Proclamation in testimony thereto.

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District, this 7th day of May, 2013, by the following vote:

AYES: Castellanos, Malcolm, Merrifield, Moore, Nelson, Smith, Valderrama

NAYS: None.

EXCUSED: None. ABSENT: None. ABSTAIN: None.

Ann Y. Moore, Chair Board of Port Commissioners

ATTEST:

Timothy A. Deuel District Clerk

(Seal)