RESOLUTION 2013-135

RESOLUTION APPOINTING KIMBERLEE ESKIERKA AS CHAIRPERSON OF THE SAN DIEGO UNIFIED PORT DISTRICT PERSONNEL ADVISORY BOARD (PAB) FROM SEPTEMBER 2, 2013 TO SEPTEMBER 1, 2014

WHEREAS, the San Diego Unified Port District (District) is a public corporation created by the Legislature in 1062 pursuant to Harbors and Navigation Code Appendix I, (Port Act); and

WHEREAS, District Personnel Rules and Regulations, Rule 3 – Personnel Advisory Board (PAB) provides that the PAB is the administrative appeals body for personnel matters with the PAB consisting of eight (8) members to be appointed by the Board of Port Commissioners (BPC); and

WHEREAS, pursuant to Rule 3, the BPC is required to designate the Chairperson of the PAB; and

WHEREAS, the District desires to appoint Kimberlee Eskierka who is a PAB member in good standing and desires to serve as Chairperson; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Eskierka has over 14 years of experience in human resources with experience including work as a Human Resources Manager and working in Labor Relations as a Federal Board Agent/Field Examiner and Labor Relations Senior Analyst; is knowledgeable in all aspects of human resources and employee relations with a strong understanding of employment law, compensation, benefits administration, and performance management; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Eskierka received a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration (BSBA) and a Master's degree in Business Administration from the University of Nevada; and

WHEREAS, staff recommends the BPC approve the appointment of Kimberlee Eskierka as Chairperson of the PAB.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District as follows:

That Kimberlee Eskierka is hereby appointed as Chairperson of the Personnel Advisory Board from September 2, 2013 to September 1, 2014.

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND LEGALITY:

PORT ATTORNEY

PASSED AND ADOPTED by the Board of Port Commissioners of the San Diego Unified Port District, this 13th day of August, 2013, by the following vote:

AYES: Castellanos, Merrifield, Moore, Nelson, Smith, Valderrama

NAYS: None.

EXCUSED: Malcolm. ABSENT: None.

ABSTAIN: None.

Ann Y. Moore, Chair

Board of Port Commissioners

ATTEST:

Timothy A. Deuel

District Clerk

(Seal)